The Southern Nevada Musical Arts Society is administered by a Board of Trustees comprised of representatives from the business community and Society members.


Dr. Douglas R. Peterson

Dr. Douglas R. Peterson, Music Director/CEO

Dr. Douglas R. Peterson is in his is in his forty-seventh season as music director of the Southern Nevada Musical Arts Society. He was honored as one of three Generations of Leaders in the Arts with a "Legend Award" by Nevada Arts Advocates at the 14th Annual NAA Gala on Friday, November 1, 2013. He was commended by Governor Gibbons for his many contributions to the Arts in Nevada in November, 2007, and was selected as a "Local Hero" award recipient through Bank of America's Neighborhood Excellence Initiative Program in November, 2006. He received the Governor's Arts Award for Excellence in the Arts in 1987 and in 1992 was recognized by Governor Bob Miller and Senators Richard Bryan and Harry Reid for his significant contribution to the Arts in Nevada. The Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce awarded Dr. Peterson its annual Community Achievement Award in Arts and Entertainment in 1998 and the Musical Arts Society honored him at its recent 50th Anniversary Banquet "in appreciation of his 45 years of excellence in musical artistry and leadership." The Nevada Music Educators Association also took the occasion to bestow on him its "Steve Maytan Service to Music Education Award." Dr. Peterson retired as Emeritus Associate Professor of Music at UNLV in 2003, having taught at the University for 36 years.

Carolyn Peterson

Carolyn Peterson, President

Carolyn Peterson is serving as president of SNMAS for a fourth year. She served as vice president for a year prior to her present position. She has participated in the Society as a member on the board of trustees since 2002 and a choral member since 1982. Her music participation has included both the Chorus and Singer groups as well as an occasional solo. Carolyn is a Music Specialist with the Clark County School District, having taught for twenty years. Carolyn earned her bachelor of Music degree from UNLV.

Donna Olufsen

Donna Olufsen, Vice President

David S. Peterson

David S. Peterson, Secretary

David S. Peterson has practiced structural engineering in Nevada since 1984 after returning to Nevada upon obtaining a Master of Engineering degree at Cornell. He joined Lochsa Engineering as a Principal Structural Engineer in 1996. He has worked on a variety of engineering projects ranging from libraries and Post Offices to aquarium and arenas. He has also specialized in the structural design of high-rises and parking garages through construction administration.

Judy Kasky

Judy Kasky, Treasurer

Judy Kasky is a tax professional who also teaches basic and advanced income tax preparation classes.


  • Martha LaBarr, Nurse Instructor, MN, RN, MSW; College of Southern Nevada
  • Isabelle LaPorta, Librarian, Retired; Clark County Library District
  • Kathy Longshore, Biologist; United States Geological Survey
  • Amanda Maxham, Writer and Research Associate; The Ayn Rand Institute
  • Mary Ann Merren, Medical Social Worker, Retired; University Medical Center
  • Russ Mickelson, Educator; College of Southern Nevada